Sentinels of Safety Award

The National Mining Association (NMA) is pleased to sponsor the Sentinels of Safety Awards for U.S. mining operations.

Sentinels of Safety are awarded annually to the nation's safest mines with a minimum of 4,000 injury-free hours.

The awards were initiated in 1925 by then-Commerce Secretary Herbert Hoover and remain the nation's most prestigious awards recognizing mining safety. For a list of all winners since the award's inception, click here.

The awards for safety achievements in 2014 were made at a dinner ceremony on November 9, 2015.

The rules and categories for the awards can be found here.

Questions about the Sentinels of Safety awards can be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

2014 Sentinels of Safety Award Winners and Recognized Operations

Large Bank or Pit

Winner:Vista Sand
Lonestar Prospects LTD

Small Bank or Pit

Winner: Portable Plant #1
Associated Constructors, LLC

Large Coal Processing Facility

Winner: Bull Mountain Mine #1
Signal Peak Energy, LLC

Small Coal Processing Facility

Winner: Red Bud Dock #1
Appalachian Mining & Reclamation LLC

Large Dredge

Winner: Briggs Plant
Fordyce Holdings, Inc.

Small Dredge

Winner: Country Side
Country Side Sand & Gravel, Inc.

Large Metal NonMetal Mill

Winner: Copperton Concentrator
Kennecott Utah Copper LLC

Small Metal NonMetal Mill

Winner: Nokomis Quarry
Hanson Material Service

Large Open Pit

Winner: Sheppard
Arcilla Mining & Land Company, LLC

Small Open Pit

Winner: BPM Lovell Mine
Bentonite Performance Minerals LLC


Large Quarry

Winner: Ste. Genevieve Facility
Tower Rock Stone Co.

Small Quarry

Winner: Portable #1
West Hawaii Concrete

Large Surface Coal

Winner: Jewett Mine
Texas Westmoreland Coal Co.

Small Surface Coal

Winner: No 1. Strip
Beechwood Coal, LLC

Large Underground Coal

Winner: Skyline Mine
Bowie Resource Partners, LLC

Small Underground Coal

Winner: Carbon Hill Mine
Prospect Mining and Development Company, Inc.

Large Underground Metal

Winner: Lee Smith Mine
Small Mine Development LLC

Small Underground Metal

Winner: Troy Mine Inc.
Hecla Mining Company

Large Underground NonMetal

Winner: Maysville Mine
Carmeuse Lime and Stone Co.

Small Underground NonMetal

Winner: Rich Hill Underground Mine
Hanson Aggregates